Get Involved

Student Programming Council

The Honors College Student Programming Council (SPC) is a student-run organization that consists of students from each of the seven living-learning programs. SPC works in conjunction with Honors College staff to plan and host events to foster community among the students of the Honors College.

To check out past and current events, visit SPC’s Facebook page.

Student Programming Council Executive Board 2019-2020
Co-President: Hannah Rosen
Co-President: Daniel Oh
General Board: Heather Beatty, Michelle Fang, Harshaan Grewal, Jessica Horng, Samuel Howard, Florina Lam, Cindy Liu, Kaitlyn Oberhaus, Mina, Senthil, Matthew Wu, Daisy Yu

Facebook: @honorsstudentprogrammingcouncil

Banneker/Key Community Council

The Banneker Key Community Council (BKCC) is a student-run organization that seeks to foster community among Banneker Key students and to serve as an outlet to help students reach out to Banneker Key alumni

Executive Board 2018-2019
President: Grant Dong
Vice President: Shivani Shah
Treasurer: Maigane Diop
Secretary: Yuzhu Shi
Social Media Chair: Salma Ansari

BKCC Class Representatives 2018-2019
First-Year Class Representative: Elizabeth Carlson
Sophomore Representative: Taylor Thomas
Junior Class Representative: Fara Clarke
Senior Class Representative: Subhashini Arumugam


Black Honors Caucus

The mission of the Black Honors Caucus is to provide a space for black and minority students to convene on the basis of scholarship, creativity and camaraderie in order to support the achievement of its members. The Black Honors Caucus is established for the purpose of building cohesiveness among Black members of the honors community and promoting activism within the Black community. This organization aims to serve the university as a whole by providing a forum for diversity and discussion about the community's greatest concerns. Although the organization is sponsored by the Honors College, membership is open to all students.

BHC Students

Black Honors Caucus Executive Board 2019-2020
Co-President: Lauren Frost
Co-President: Angel Graham
Vice President: Jesse Cotton
Treasurer: Francis Oparaocha
Executive Programs Director: Alexys Still
Programs Director: Amina Lampkin
Secretary: Jabari Grubb
Executive Member at Large: Kendall Hamilton
Historian/Public Relations: Tiana Wilson
Community Liaison: Tijera Robinson

Twitter: @BHC_UMD
Instagram: @blackhonorscaucus

W.E.B. Du Bois Honors Society

The William Edward Burghardt Du Bois National Honors Society is an organization committed to the scholarship and leadership recognition of collegiate undergraduates, especially African American students. Although the organization is sponsored by the Honors College, membership is open to any student who is academically eligible and who shares the ideals of and plans to contribute to the academic advancement and achievement of African American students both on campus and within the local community.

Students interested in membership must have a minimum cumulative GPA of a 3.30 and be registered as a full-time student. Students are inducted in the fall semester. 

For more information about joining the W.E.B. Du Bois Honors Society, please contact Dr. Traci Dula or Ms. Lauren Healy.

Honors College Student Board (HCSB)

The Honors College Student Board (HCSB) represents all seven living-learning programs and all departmental honors programs. Representatives serve the executive director of the Honors College and the mission to advance students' academic interests.