Discover Honors
Honors College Homepage About the Honors College Academics Admission to Honors Advising Awards Banneker/Key Scholars Blog and Listserv Event Calendar Faculty Fellows Honor Societies at UMHonors Option Courses Lecture Series New Student Info News Archive Photo Gallery Research Resources & Opportunities Scholarships Student Organizations Student Profiles Support Honors Winding Banister Review
Departmental Honors

DEPARTMENTAL/COLLEGE HONORS PROGRAMS

 

Benefits of Departmental Honors

List of Departmental Honors Contacts

Departmental Honors programs usually involve working closely with a faculty mentor on an independent research project lasting at least 3 semesters and culminating in an honors thesis. Departmental Honors research is a powerful way for a student to experience the thrill of innovative research and discovery in his/her field of interest. In a few Colleges, such as Business, students may choose a thesis option, but there is also a non-thesis option involving upper level coursework and enriching experiences appropriate to the discipline.

Admission to Departmental Honors programs varies by College / Department, but there is typically a minimum GPA requirement, upper level course requirements, and an in-depth research / scholarly endeavor culminating with a thesis [check specific details of individual programs through the web links and contact information below]. Students may do Departmental Honors in addition to any of the Honors College Living-Learning programs. Some Departmental Honors programs are open to first year students, although most students begin Departmental Honors at the end of their second or beginning of their third year on campus. Again, check individual programs for options; be aware that some (such as Business) have firm application dates.

 

Benefits of Departmental Honors:

Students admitted to a departmental or college honors program on campus are also considered members of the Honors College, whether or not they were Honors students when they entered Maryland. For more information, please visit: http://www.provost.umd.edu/PCC_DOCUMENTS/DesignVI_Honors.htm.

Honors (HONR) Seminars & H-Versions

All Honors College students, including departmental/college honors students have access to Honors (HONR) seminars offered by the University Honors Program and H-version courses offered by academic departments across campus. If you are a departmental/college honors student who is blocked from registering for an honors course you wish to take, please contact Assistant Director of the Honors College, Dean Hebert, for assistance.

Ice Cream

All Honors College students are welcome to participate in Honors College events, including our famous ice cream socials! Please watch the Honors College Event Calendar (http://www.honors.umd.edu/events.php) and the Honors College listserv for upcoming events.

Honors Research Grants

Departmental/College honors program students may apply for a one-time, need-based Honors Research Grant of $500 to help support research for an individual senior thesis or travel to a professional conference related to the thesis. Selection of recipients is based on academic merit, quality of supporting materials, and financial need. More information about the Honors Research Grants is available at http://www.honors.umd.edu/research_grant.php.

Honors Option Courses

If a student in a Department or College Honors Program is not able to take a departmental honors course that is required to meet your honors degree requirements, that student may develop an “Honors Option Course” with the permission of his/her Honors program advisor and the Honors College. An Honors Option student enrolls in a non-Honors course and creates an honors-quality addendum to the syllabus. More information about the Honors Option Courses can be found at http://www.honors.umd.edu/honors_option.php.

 

 

LINKS and DIRECTORS:

African-American Studies
http://www.bsos.umd.edu/aasp/programs/honors_program.htm
Ms. Valencia Skeeter
1119 Taliaferro Hall
301-405-1170
vskeeter@umd.edu

Aerospace Engineering
http://www.aero.umd.edu/undergrad/honors
Dr. Ray Sedwick
3146 Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-0111
sedwick@umd.edu

Agriculture & Natural Resources
http://agnr.umd.edu/departments-programs/special-academic-programs/agnr-undergraduate-honors-program
Dr. Leon Slaughter, Asst. Dean
0110 Symons Hall
301-405-2078
lslaugh@umd.edu

American Studies
http://amst.umd.edu/About%20Us/Undergraduate/honors_program.htm
Dr. R. Gordon Kelly
1105 Holzapfel Hall
301-405-1354
rgkelly@umd.edu

Anthropology
http://www.anth.umd.edu/content/honors-program
Dr. Bill Stuart
0106 Woods Hall
301-405-1435
wmstuart@umd.edu

Art
http://www.art.umd.edu/honors.html
Dr. Justin Strom
M1322 Art-Sociology Bldg.
301-405-1452
jstrom@umd.edu

Art History & Archeology
http://arthistory.umd.edu/honors-art-history-2012-2013
Dr. Renee Ater
4222 Art-Sociology Bldg.
301-405-1490
rater@umd.edu

Astronomy
http://www.astro.umd.edu/undergrad/major.html
Dr. Grace Deming
1241 Computer & Space Science Bldg.
301-405-1562
deming@umd.edu

Fischell Department of Bioengineering
http://www.bioe.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Adam Hsieh
3242 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building
301-405-7397
hsieh@umd.edu

Biology
http://biology.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Marjorie Reaka
4202 Bio-Psych Bldg.
301-405-6944
mlreaka@umd.edu

Business & Management
https://unet.rhsmith.umd.edu/undergrad/portal/portalhub.nsf/ID/business_honors
Dr. Charles E. Olson
3419 Van Munching Hall
301-405-8666
colson@rhsmith.umd.edu

Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics
http://www.life.umd.edu/CBMG/undergrad/honors.html
Dr. Zongchi Liu
0124 Biosciences Research Building
301-405-1586
zliu@umd.edu

Chemistry and Biochemistry
http://www.chem.umd.edu/undergraduateprogram/currentstudents/chemistryhonorsprogram/
Dr. Douglas Julin
3505 Bio-Chemistry
301-405-1821
djulin@umd.edu

Communication
http://www.comm.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Leah Waks
Skinner 2101B
301-405-6529
leahwaks@wam.umd.edu

Computer Science
http://www.cs.umd.edu/Honors/
Dr. Atif Memon
3245 A.V. Williams Building
301-405-2698
atif@cs.umd.edu

Dr. Donald Perlis
3253 A.V. Williams Building
301-405-2685
perlis@cs.umd.edu

Criminology & Criminal Justice
http://www.ccjs.umd.edu/content/departmental-honors-program-0
Dr. Thomas Loughran
2220J LeFrak Hall
301-405-4699
tloughra@umd.edu

Economics
http://www.econ.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors
Dr. John Straub
3127C Tydings Hall
301-405-3531
straub@econ.umd.edu

Education
http://www.education.umd.edu/index.html
Dr. Christy T. Corbin
1117H Benjamin Bldg.
301-405-7793
ctc@umd.edu

Electrical & Computer Engineering
http://www.ece.umd.edu/node/199
Dr. Romel Gomez
Electrical and Computer Engineering Office of Undergraduate Studies
2313 A.V. Williams Building
301-405-7755
rdgomez@umd.edu

Engineering Honors Program
http://www.eng.umd.edu/current/honors-program
Dr. Richard H. McCuen
Dept. of Civil & Environmental Engineering
1170 Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-1949
rhmccuen@umd.edu

English
http://www.english.umd.edu/academics/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Randy Ontiveros
3123 Tawes Hall
301-405-3833
rjo@umd.edu

Entomology
http://entomology.umd.edu/academics/undergraduate/honorsprogram
Dr. William Lamp
4112 Plant Sciences Bldg.
301-405-9290
lamp@umd.edu

Environmental Science and Policy
http://www.ensp.umd.edu/Honors.html
Dr. Bruce James, Director
0220 Symons Hall
301-405-8573
brjames@umd.edu

Dr. Wendy Whittemore, Acting Director Aug. 1, 2012 - Aug. 2013
0220 Symons Hall
301-405-8573
wwhitte@umd.edu

Family Sciences
http://sph.umd.edu/fmsc/ugrad/honors.html
Dr. Mia Smith Bynum
1124W School of Public Health
301-405-0229
msbynum@umd.edu

French
http://sllc.umd.edu/french/undergraduate/honors
Ms. Karen Casebier
3106G Jimenez Hall
301-405-4032

Geographical Sciences
http://geog.umd.edu/content/honors-geography
Dr. Martha E. Geores
2181 Lefrak Hall
301-405-4064
mgeores@umd.edu

Geology
http://www.geol.umd.edu/undergraduates/ugdhonors.htm
Dr. John Merck
1218 Centreville Hall
301-405-2808
jmerck@umd.edu

Germanic Studies
http://sllc.umd.edu/german/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Rose-Marie Oster
3224 Jimenez Hall
301-405-4096
rmoster@umd.edu

Government & Politics
http://www.bsos.umd.edu/gvpt/honors/
Dr. David Cunningham
3140 Tydings Hall
301-405-8364
dacunnin@umd.edu

Hearing & Speech Sciences
http://www.hesp.umd.edu/content/honors
Dr. Yasmeen Faroqi Shah
0141F Lefrak Hall
301-405-4229
yfshah@umd.edu

History
http://history.umd.edu/undergraduate/programs/honors
Dr. Holly Brewer
2133 Francis Scott Key
301-405-9442
hbrewer@umd.edu

Italian
http://www.languages.umd.edu
Dr. Joseph Falvo
3103 Jimenez Hall
301-405-4031
gfalvo@umd.edu

Kinesiology
http://sph.umd.edu/KNES/ugrad/honors.html
Dr. Espen Spangenburg
301-405-2483
espen@umd.edu

Linguistics
http://ling.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors/
Dr. Tonia Bleam
1401 Marie Mount Hall
301-405-4930
tbleam@umd.edu

Mathematics
http://www-math.umd.edu/undergraduate/opportunities.html?id=101
Dr. Larry Washington
1106 Mathematics Building
301-405-5059
lcw@math.umd.edu

Philosophy
http://www.philosophy.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Erin Eaker
1118C Skinner Bldg.
301-405-5713
eeaker@umd.edu

Physics
http://umdphysics.umd.edu/academics/undergraduate/currentstudents/497-physhonors.html
Dr. Steven Anlage
1363 John S. Toll Physics Bldg
301-405-7321
anlage@umd.edu

Psychology
http://psychology.umd.edu/ugrad/honors.html
Dr. Tom Wallsten
3123D Bio-Psychology Bldg.
301-405-3562
twallsten@psyc.umd.edu

Sociology
http://www.socy.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors-program
Dr. Linda Moghadam
2108 Art-Sociology Bldg.
301-405-6389
moghadam@umd.edu

Spanish & Portuguese
http://sllc.umd.edu/spanish/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Eyda M. Merediz
2215H Jiménez Hall
(301) 405-6451
emerediz@umd.edu

Women's Studies
http://www.womensstudies.umd.edu/current/undergraduate/honors.html
Dr. Else Barkley Brown
2101 Woods Hall
301-405-6877
barkleyb@umd.edu