Departmental Honors

Departmental/College Honors Programs

Benefits of Departmental Honors

List of Departmental Honors Contacts

Departmental Honors programs usually involve working closely with a faculty mentor on an independent research project lasting at least 3 semesters and culminating in an honors thesis. Departmental Honors research is a powerful way for a student to experience the thrill of innovative research and discovery in his/her field of interest. In a few Colleges, such as Business, students may choose a thesis option, but there is also a non-thesis option involving upper level coursework and enriching experiences appropriate to the discipline.

Admission to Departmental Honors programs varies by College / Department, but there is typically a minimum GPA requirement, upper level course requirements, and an in-depth research / scholarly endeavor culminating with a thesis [check specific details of individual programs through the web links and contact information below]. Students may do Departmental Honors in addition to any of the Honors College Living-Learning programs. Some Departmental Honors programs are open to first year students, although most students begin Departmental Honors at the end of their second or beginning of their third year on campus. Again, check individual programs for options; be aware that some (such as Business) have firm application dates.

Benefits of Departmental Honors:

Students admitted to a departmental or college honors program on campus are also considered members of the Honors College, whether or not they were Honors students when they entered Maryland. For more information, please visit: http://www.provost.umd.edu/PCC_DOCUMENTS/DesignVI_Honors.htm.

Honors (HONR) Seminars & H-Versions

All Honors College students, including departmental/college honors students have access to Honors (HONR) seminars offered by the University Honors Program and H-version courses offered by academic departments across campus. If you are a departmental/college honors student who is blocked from registering for an honors course you wish to take, please contact Assistant Director of the Honors College, Dean Hebert, for assistance.

Ice Cream

All Honors College students are welcome to participate in Honors College events, including our famous ice cream socials! Please watch the Honors College Event Calendar (http://www.honors.umd.edu/events.php) and the Honors College listserv for upcoming events.

Honors Research Grants

Departmental/College honors program students may apply for a one-time, need-based Honors Research Grant of $500 to help support research for an individual senior thesis or travel to a professional conference related to the thesis. Selection of recipients is based on academic merit, quality of supporting materials, and financial need. More information about the Honors Research Grants is available at http://www.honors.umd.edu/research_grant.php.

Honors Option Courses

If a student in a Department or College Honors Program is not able to take a departmental honors course that is required to meet your honors degree requirements, that student may develop an “Honors Option Course” with the permission of his/her Honors program advisor and the Honors College. An Honors Option student enrolls in a non-Honors course and creates an honors-quality addendum to the syllabus. More information about the Honors Option Courses can be found at http://www.honors.umd.edu/honors_option.php.

Links & Directors:

African-American Studies

http://www.bsos.umd.edu/aasp/programs/honors_program.htm
Ms. Valencia Skeeter
1119 Taliaferro Hall
301-405-1170
vskeeter@umd.edu

Aerospace Engineering

http://www.aero.umd.edu/undergrad/honors
Dr. Ray Sedwick
3146 Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-0111
sedwick@umd.edu

Agriculture & Natural Resources

http://agnr.umd.edu/departments-programs/special-academic-programs/agnr-undergraduate-honors-program
Dr. Evelyn Cooper
0109 Symons Hall
301-405-0744
ecooper@umd.edu

American Studies

http://amst.umd.edu/About%20Us/Undergraduate/honors_program.htm
Dr. Mary Sies
1328F Tawes Hall
301-405-1361
sies@umd.edu

Anthropology

http://www.anth.umd.edu/content/honors-program
Dr. Bill Stuart
0106 Woods Hall
301-405-1435
wmstuart@umd.edu

Art

http://www.art.umd.edu/honors.html
Shannon Collis
1M326 Art-Sociology Building
1 443 955 0306
scollis@umd.edu

Art History & Archeology

http://arthistory.umd.edu/honors-art-history-2012-2013
Dr. Yui Suzuki
4220 Art-Sociology Bldg.
301-405-1488
ysuzuki@umd.edu

Astronomy

http://www.astro.umd.edu/undergrad/major.html
Dr. Melissa Hayes-Gehrke
1245 Computer & Space Science Bldg.
301-405-5099
mhayesge@umd.edu

Fischell Department of Bioengineering

http://www.bioe.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Helim Aranda
3138 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building
301-405-8250
helim@umd.edu

Biology

http://biology.umd.edu/honors.html
Dr. Marjorie Reaka
4202 Bio-Psych Bldg.
301-405-6944
mlreaka@umd.edu

Business & Management

http://www.rhsmith.umd.edu/programs/undergraduate-programs/academics/fellows-special-programs/business-honors
Dr. Charles E. Olson
3419 Van Munching Hall
301-405-8666
colson@rhsmith.umd.edu

Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics

http://www.life.umd.edu/CBMG/undergrad/honors.html
Dr. Louisa Wu
5128 Plant Sciences Building
301-405-5151
lwu1@umd.edu

Chemistry and Biochemistry

http://www.chem.umd.edu/undergraduateprogram/currentstudents/chemistryhonorsprogram/
Dr. Mike Montague-Smith
1206 Chemistry Building
301-405-1791
mpms@umd.edu

Communication

http://www.comm.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Leah Waks
Skinner 2101B
301-405-6529
leahwaks@wam.umd.edu

Computer Science

http://undergrad.cs.umd.edu/departmental-honors
Dr. Rich Gerber
4135 A.V. Williams Building
301-405-8010
rich@cs.umd.edu

Dr. Dave Levin
3122 A.V. Williams Building
301-405-2776
dml@cs.umd.edu

Dr. Vibha Sazawal
4401 A.V. Williams Building
301-405-1719
vibha@umiacs.umd.edu

Criminology & Criminal Justice

http://www.ccjs.umd.edu/content/departmental-honors-program-0
Dr. David Maimon
2220 LeFrak Hall
301-405-4716
dmaimon@umd.edu

Economics

http://www.econ.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors

Dr. Nuno Limao
4118K Tydings Hall
301-405-7842
limao@econ.umd.edu

Education

http://www.education.umd.edu/index.html
Dr. Christy T. Corbin
1117H Benjamin Bldg.
301-405-7793
ctc@umd.edu

Electrical & Computer Engineering

http://www.ece.umd.edu/node/199
Dr. Romel Gomez
Electrical and Computer Engineering Office of Undergraduate Studies
2313 A.V. Williams Building
301-405-7755
rdgomez@umd.edu

Engineering Honors Program

http://www.eng.umd.edu/current/honors-program
Dr. Richard H. McCuen
Dept. of Civil & Environmental Engineering
1170 Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-1949
rhmccuen@umd.edu

English

http://www.english.umd.edu/academics/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Randy Ontiveros
3123 Tawes Hall
301-405-3833
rjo@umd.edu

Entomology

http://entomology.umd.edu/academics/undergraduate/honorsprogram
Dr. William Lamp
4112 Plant Sciences Bldg.
301-405-9290
lamp@umd.edu

Environmental Science and Policy

http://www.ensp.umd.edu/Honors.html
Dr. Bruce James, Director
0220 Symons Hall
301-405-8573
brjames@umd.edu

Angela Mazur-Gray
0220 Symons Hall
301-405-5301
abm13@umd.edu

Family Sciences

http://sph.umd.edu/fmsc/ugrad/honors.html
Dr. Mia Smith Bynum
1124W School of Public Health
301-405-0229
msbynum@umd.edu

French

https://sllc.umd.edu/french/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Valerie Orlando
3106G Jimenez Hall
301-405-6386
vorlando@umd.edu

Geographical Sciences

http://geog.umd.edu/content/honors-geography
Dr. Martha E. Geores
2181 Lefrak Hall
301-405-4064
mgeores@umd.edu

Geology

http://www.geol.umd.edu/undergraduates/ugdhonors.htm
Dr. John Merck
1218 Centreville Hall
301-405-2808
jmerck@umd.edu

Germanic Studies

http://sllc.umd.edu/german/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Regina Ianozi
4106 Jimenez Hall
301-405-4091
ianozi@umd.edu

Government & Politics

http://www.bsos.umd.edu/gvpt/honors/
Dr. David Cunningham
3140 Tydings Hall
301-405-8364
dacunnin@umd.edu

Hearing & Speech Sciences

http://www.hesp.umd.edu/content/honors
Dr. Yasmeen Faroqi Shah
0141F Lefrak Hall
301-405-4229
yfshah@umd.edu

History

http://history.umd.edu/undergraduate/programs/honors
Dr. Holly Brewer
2133 Francis Scott Key
301-405-9442
hbrewer@umd.edu

Italian

http://www.languages.umd.edu
Dr. Joseph Falvo
3103 Jimenez Hall
301-405-4031
gfalvo@umd.edu

Kinesiology

http://sph.umd.edu/department/knes/honors-program
Dr. Carson Smith
2351 SPH Building
301-405-2450
carson@umd.edu

Linguistics

http://ling.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors/
Dr. Tonia Bleam
1401 Marie Mount Hall
301-405-4930
tbleam@umd.edu

Mathematics

http://www-math.umd.edu/undergraduate/opportunities.html?id=101
Dr. Larry Washington
1106 Mathematics Building
301-405-5059
lcw@math.umd.edu

Philosophy

http://www.philosophy.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Allen Stairs
1126 Skinner Bldg.
301-405-5695
stairs@umd.edu

Physics

http://umdphysics.umd.edu/academics/undergraduate/currentstudents/497-physhonors.html
Dr. Steven Anlage
1363 John S. Toll Physics Bldg
301-405-7321
anlage@umd.edu

Psychology

http://psychology.umd.edu/ugrad/honors.html
Dr. Jack Blanchard
1147A Bio-Psychology Bldg.
301-405-8438
jblancha@umd.edu

Sociology

http://www.socy.umd.edu/undergraduate/honors-program
Dr. Linda Moghadam
2108 Art-Sociology Bldg.
301-405-6389
moghadam@umd.edu

Spanish & Portuguese

http://sllc.umd.edu/spanish/undergraduate/honors
Dr. Ana Patricia Rodriguez
2215E Jiménez Hall
(301) 405-2020
aprodrig@umd.edu

Women's Studies

http://www.womensstudies.umd.edu/current/undergraduate/honors.html
Dr. Else Barkley Brown
2101 Woods Hall
301-405-6877
barkleyb@umd.edu